Our midwinter Challenger…

Sarah is in New Zealand, so her midsummer Challenge is actually taking place in the depths of midwinter! Brave lady, luckily as she can count a winter coat as performance wear she won’t be perishing in the snow (we hope!)…

 

What made you become part of the challenge? 

I was really inspired from seeing The Uniform Project, and decided I wanted to do something similar, something fun every day that helps put my wardrobe away and helps a really great cause, thats when I tracked down your awesome challenge and signed myself up asap!

 

Have you always thought about fashion from an ethical standpoint, or is it something new to you? 

I have always shopped at op shops, purely because I have loved to re-hash garments into something a little more wacky, but it has only been in the last few years or so that I strictly buy everything (except the obvious) from op shops as my stand against bringing MORE PRODUCTS into this world – I cant really stand malls, the mass produced racks of 100’s of the same thing – yuk! and the plastic chemically smell the shops have, its purely quantity over quality and its atrocious.

 

What other themes are you thinking of in relation to the challenge; sustainability? Thriftiness? Reducing consumption? Personal identity? 

Yes all of these things, i’m thinking creativity also. I hope to inspire people to know even with a few general items of clothing, with a little creativity of accessories or a little hand sewing you can give your garments a new look – there is no need to continuously go out and buy more of the same thing eg: owning 5 black dresses that all look slightly different.

 

How are you preparing yourself? 

Smiling as I pack my wardrobe away, my room is looking much tidier. I haven’t been wearing my favourite grey skirt at all this winter so far, as I know we will have plenty of time together through July.

 

What are you expecting to be the most difficult?

I think most def the cold of this NZ winter. Thankfully the rules let me have an additional jacket so I do not die of hypothermia for these garment workers.

What do you think you’ll experience during / after the challenge? 

I think I will have a lot of fun with accessories as I really do love to make them and buy them and have them to look at – but they are actually more powerful in an outfit ensemble than people first imagine. I’m hoping it’s going to be a fun challenge that I will strive to get people THINKING about consumer choices, perhaps I might continue on after the 4 weeks of July…who knows?

 

Have you chosen your items yet? If you have, what are they?

First is my woollen grey winter skirt (it actually comes with a button on pinafore-ish top to wear as a dress), a simple black dress (the ol faithful), warm snuggly green cardi, pink 3/4 sleeve basic top, Warm long sleeve black jersey, and im still trying to choose between a blouse, or a t-shirt for my 6th item – I might have to ask blogland what they think?

Leave a comment