Workin’ the Wardrobe – Weeks 3 + 4

Hello Fellow Sixers and Fashion Friends,

Before I show what I wore during weeks 3 & 4 I have a few tips for readers who are considering participating in the challenge:

TIP #1: Keep a simple written or pictorial log of what you’ve worn each day.  It’s amazing how quickly you forget what you wore – even when you only have six items of clothing.

TIP #2: When you decide how you are going to document your outfits, try to keep the process simple.  I opted not to take self portraits each day and to do an ‘inspiration board’ approach.  This turned out to be more work than I care to admit and I’ve run into some glitches along the way.  My advice – keep it simple 🙂

TIP #3:  Have an elevator speech (30 second speech) ready to respond to people if they ask you about your rotating wardrobe. Keep your message short and interesting so people will remember it and share your story.  Mine goes something like what I have below.  Usually these three sentences lead into a full conversation.

“I’m participating in a global awareness campaign called The Six Item Challenge.  Me and my fellow Sixers are wearing 6 pieces of clothing for 6 weeks so we can help bring awareness to the high cost of fast fashion.  You can check out The Six Items Challenge and Labour Behind the Label online to learn more.”

So, here are the outfits I came up with for weeks 3 & 4.  Drum roll please…

A lazy day working from home so I wore my comfy socks and gym clothes :)

A lazy day working from home so I wore my comfy socks and gym clothes 🙂

Black second hand skinny pants, reversible black jersey dress with tights - it was a very cold day, black rimmed glasses and my little pearl earrings.

Black second-hand skinny pants, reversible black jersey dress with tights – it was a very cold day, black rimmed glasses and my little pearl earrings.

One of my fave outfits.  I love this second hand beige top and my booties with a bow.

One of my fave outfits. I love this second-hand beige top and my booties with a bow.

Kind of a polo look with my beige top tucked into my poppy pants with high riding boots and scarf.

Kind of a polo look with my beige top tucked into my poppy pants with high riding boots and scarf.

day19

My grocery shopping outfit for the day.

Animal print dress and simple flat shoes are great for a busy day.

Animal print dress and simple flat shoes are great for a busy day.

The poppy skinny pants paired with the second hand beige top and beige pump penny-loafers made me feel like spring is around the corner - which it is not!

The poppy skinny pants paired with the second-hand beige top and beige pump penny-loafers made me feel like spring is around the corner – which it is not!

Great casual outfit with my Coach leather messenger bag and vintage scarf.

Great casual outfit with my Coach leather messenger bag and vintage scarf.

Animal print dress with brown tights and vintage brown suede shoes.  The great thing about this animal print dress is it goes with black and brown tights.

Animal print dress with brown tights and vintage brown suede shoes. The great thing about this animal print dress is it goes with black and brown tights.  My boss commended me today for how smart my wardrobe has been through the challenge.  She can’t believe I’ve been able to make so many outfits out of 6 pieces of clothes.

All black once again.  This outfit was really all about the shoes - again I'm longing for spring to come to Toronto.

All black once again. This outfit was really all about the shoes – again I’m longing for spring to come to Toronto.  Some of my friends are starting to catch on to the rotating wardrobe and as I tell them about the cost of fast fashion they are all wanting to learn more about making smart clothing purchases.

Here's my rustic outfit :) I paired my second hand beige blouse and skinny black pants with a second hand plaid Armani coat I picked up two seasons ago.

Here’s my rustic outfit 🙂 I paired my second-hand beige blouse and skinny black pants with a second-hand plaid Armani winter coat I picked up two seasons ago.  I paid a mere $6 for the coat – it’s extremely well made and each time I put it on I hope that the people who worked on the piece were treated with respect and compensated fairly.

Okay, today was a bit of a cheat.  I wore cropped leggings with my animal print dress because I'd forgotten to wash my good black tights the night before.

Okay, today was a bit of a cheat. I wore cropped leggings with my animal print dress because I’d forgotten to wash my good black tights the night before.

Back on track today with my freshly washed black tights and the black reversible jersey dress.

Back on track today with my freshly washed black tights and the black reversible jersey dress.

I'm fortunate that from time to time I work from home on special projects.  For these two days I opted for gym wear and I washed all of my six items and let them air dry and have two well deserved days off.

I’m fortunate that from time to time I work from home on special projects. For these two days I opted for gym wear and I washed all of my six items and let them air dry and have two well deserved days off.

Through all of my pictures have you noticed that one piece is missing?  Let me know if you’ve spotted the piece.  On my next post I’ll give one very important tip regarding the missing piece.

One final thing; if you have been enjoying my posts, please consider sponsoring me to help raise some money for Labour Behind the Label.  My sponsor page is here.  Thanks for your consideration and support 🙂

Fashionably aware and happy to share,
Anita @OrganicExpert

Leave a Reply

