It’s been a while!

I seem to have wandered off for a while for some reason but now I’m back! This challenge is very important and I want to complete it having raised the profile of Labour Behind the Label and the very important work that it does.

I’m still sticking to the 6 items, but I’d be lying if I didn’t say that it is getting more and more difficult in that I’m wanting to wear other things. I have to say that I have been tempted but haven’t succumbed to this. My lack of creativity with my accesssories  doesn’t really help.

I know I’m moaning but I also know that the above isn’t really important.

Shops in the UK are trying to meet the constant demand for fast fashion. But this comes at a price. Heath and Safety conditions in garment factories are neglected and workers are paid below the Living Wage. Customers are being satisfied as the garment workers are being exploited.

You might be asking yourself, what can I do about it? Labour Behind the Label are aware that you might be looking for a list of shops to buy from and wondering which ones to avoid, but sadly they can’t do that. Buying ‘sweatshop free’ clothes is a complicated business. Labour Behind the Label exists to help improve conditions for garment workers on the ground and empower them to change their systems for the better – but they’re not a consumer label and can’t hope to know everything there is to know about all brands. For more information please look on the website.

Thanks once more to everyone who has donated to Labour Behind the Label’s work. If you feel able to give a donation, no matter how small, please go to http://www.everydayhero.co.uk/julie_morton

Thank you for taking the time to read this.

 

Julie

Leave a Reply

