Spreading the knowledge

We catch up quickly with Gillian, over in Portland, Oregon, to find out what’s got her inspired to give up her clothing habit for a month and make herself and others think more about the ethics behind the clothing industry.  As well as a bit of personal searching for an end to the need for more, more, more…

Hi Gillian, what made you become part of the Six Items Challenge?

My friend Stephanie participated in the challenge during the summer and she really inspired me to do it too! I think it’s a great way to get the word out.

Have you always thought about fashion from an ethical standpoint or is this something new to you?

Over the last year I have become interested in sustainable fashion but I had never thought about worker’s rights until I heard about the 6 Items Challenge. I suppose that’s the point of the challenge, raising awareness! Well it worked for me and I hope I can inspire others to think ethically too.

What other themes are you thinking of in relation to the challenge; sustainability? Thriftiness?  Reducing consumption?  Personal identity?

Sustainability is always on my mind but I hope that during this challenge I learn to appreciate my clothes that I have and stop the urge to constantly shop!

Have you prepared yourself at all?

I haven’t really! I’m excited to dive into the challenge and learn as I go along!

So, what are you expecting to be the most difficult bit of the Challenge?

Adjusting my outfits to the weather. During the day in Portland it is very hot but in the morning and as soon as the sun goes down it’s chilly! Luckily I have many underutilized scarves…

What do you think you’ll experience during / after the challenge?

During the challenge I anticipate frustration, but it’ll be worth it if I can get just one person to be more aware of the cause. After the challenge I hope I will be more satisfied with what I have, not what I could buy. I hope to be more aware of where my clothes came from, how they were made, and make more ethical buying choices in the future.

Have you chosen your items yet? If you have, what are they?

I have! I have two shirts, a pair of shorts, a dress, a skirt, and a jacket.

Leave a Reply

