Honing identity

We spoke to Stephanie, a nascent fashion designer, about the reasons she took up the Six Items Challenge while relocating to New York City…

What made you become part of the challenge? 

I found out about LBL while reading a blog, and I wanted to challenge myself. LBL really opened my eyes to the truth about how many of my clothes are manufactured, and now I want to raise awareness! Also I thought it would be fun because I will be in New York during the challenge, making packing quiiiite easy! 

Have you always thought about fashion from an ethical standpoint, or is it something new to you? 

This is fairly new to me. But I’m quite passionate now! Now that I have learned the information about the ethics of fashion, I can’t turn a blind eye. I strive to become a designer, and learning about this other side of the fashion industry really makes me think about the choices I will have to make in the future. 

What other themes are you thinking of in relation to the challenge; sustainability? Thriftiness? Reducing consumption? Personal identity? 

I really want to show the versatility of clothing! I chose my six based on how many different ways I could wear them. The way I dress is a huge part of my identity, so I want to prove that you can set yourself apart without owning tons of clothes. 

How are you preparing yourself?

By getting familiar with my items, trying to find interesting ways to style them so that I won’t get bored. 

What are you expecting to be the most difficult?

Probably keeping cool, NYC is going to be hellishly hot while I’m there. Also, keeping myself from getting bored of my clothes is going to be quite a feat.

What do you think you’ll experience during / after the challenge? 

During, I will probably get bored of my clothes. But by the end I will realize that with a tightly honed wardrobe, life is much simpler. I’m hoping that this challenge will make me reevaluate the way I purchase clothing, choosing quality over quantity.

Have you chosen your items yet? If you have, what are they?

I have chosen a sheer white button up, a sheer black button up, black harem pants, a grey tank dress, and long black skirt, and this crazy grey dress by canadian brand Complex Geometries that can be worn a bunch of different ways.

Leave a Reply

