Ceri prepares to get creative…

Rolling up her sleeves to take on the Six Items Challenge is Ceri, an erstwhile ethical fashion blogger.  We very much look forward to seeing her creative responses to looking good on a clothing fast!

What made you become part of the challenge?

I love a good challenge! I have done similar challenges in the past but nothing quite this extreme. What I really love about a challenge like this is that the less you have to start with, the more creative you become, although really hope I don’t run out of ideas by the end of the month. It is also an excellent opportunity for me to wear some of my many accessories and promote something that I truly believe in by posting about the challenge on my blog.

Have you always thought about fashion from an ethical standpoint, or is it something new to you?

I have always had an interest in preserving the environment and started thinking about ethical and sustainability issues in fashion quite a few years ago. Just under a year ago I made the switch to only buying clothes from ethical fashion brands, charity shops or vintage retailers and reducing my consumption dramatically.

What other themes are you thinking of in relation to the challenge; sustainability? Thriftiness? Reducing consumption? Personal identity?

definitely reducing consumption and sustainability, perhaps also personal identity.

How are you preparing yourself?

I am going through outfit ideas in my head to try and ensure I pick items of clothing that are versatile enough to make different outfits with.

What are expecting to be the most difficult?

I am going to a festival and camping trip so may be difficult to wash and dry my clothes. I will also need to choose items that are not too delicate and might get ruined by the mud if it wet!

What do you think you’ll experience during / after the challenge?

During the challenge, lots of creativity, which is something I really enjoy, perhaps a little panic after the first week or two. A bit of a rush to get things washed and dried in time to wear again as I usually only do washing and ironing one day a week. A renewed committment to not buying clothes that I don’t need. Perhaps I will also become better at using accessories to create different outfits rather than needing new clothes.

Have you chosen your items yet? If you have, what are they?

Not completely decided yet but think they may include a black dress, leggings, a pair of skinny jeans, patterned trousers and 2 t shirts/ vest tops, most or all of which will be from ethical brands.

Leave a Reply

