Pondering

I have been challenged in the last couple of days about why I am doing this, and is it worth it? I mean, what kind of difference will it actually make, and am I being hypocritical to ask people to think about these issues when actually do I actually make much difference as an ethical purchaser anyway? I’m not that sure that I am such a good ethical purchaser anyway. I mean, I care about it, and I’m bothered when I think about the effect my purchasing can have on others. I choose my supermarket based on which I think is ‘least unethical’, and I don’t shop in certain places because of their lack of ethical policies, a bank with Smile, i choose fairtrade etc… But is that actually enough? I am probably unwittingly buying from places that don’t look after their workers and producers all the time. I have products in my ownership where I know that is the case (I am writing this on an iPad – thanks for pointing the out Lu ;))  I send an occasional email to a store, but I’m not actually that good at getting involved in campaigning. And even if I was ten times better, one individual actually make that much difference?

I believe yes …. And that is why I make ethical choices on a day-to-day basis, even if I don’t always get it right. And that is why I am doing this challenge. Mother Teresa once said “what we are doing is just a drop in the ocean. But if that drop was not in the ocean, I think the ocean would be less because of that missing drop.”

What I think she is saying is even if we are just doing small things, it is important and it does make a difference. What can seem insignificant can be very significant. And as a Christian I believe we should be working for justice for all people – and God sees the little things we do. And many little drops working together can make a stream, a river, a waterfall, an ocean. Can even create a storm!

So I hope this lent doing the 6 item challenge will make a difference. By:

– helping me discover more about ethical fashion, my own values and making me think about what more I can do

– getting some of my friends and family to at least consider their purchasing choices, and hopefully change some of them!

-hopefully raise some money for Lift the Label to help them campaign on others behalf.

And least the first of those is already happening!!


Leave a Reply

