Meet Sarah: a 2-a-day cardigan addict!

Hi Sarah… we want to know how you got involved in this crazy Six Items Challenge.. please tell us the story..

Bee’s excellent powers of persuasion…! No .. well I love a good challenge, and  as I am a big supporter of Labour Behind the Label I thought this would be a good opportunity to combine my love of challenges and talking about workers rights!

 

What are your thoughts on ethical fashion – does it feature in your life and choices?

I have been very interested in ethical fashion for about 6 years. I buy most of my clothes from People Tree and enjoy making my own clothes, however, completely avoiding fast fashion is something I find quite difficult, and I think it can be too easy to distance oneself from the origins of our clothes. Hopefully the challenge will help me to think about ethical and sustainable fashion further.

 

What other themes are you thinking of in relation to the challenge; sustainability? Thriftiness?  Reducing consumption?  Personal identity?

All of the above! Clothes definitely shape my identity at the moment so I am interested to see how I will feel without most of them! I am also keen to reduce my consumption.

 

What are you doing to get prepared?

Trying out various combinations of my 6 items and trying to decide what to choose! And wearing items I know I won’t get to wear for a while.

 

What do you think will be the most difficult thing about the Challenge?

Living without all my cardigans! Sometimes I wear two per day…!

 

What do you think you’ll notice during / after the challenge?

I think I’ll experience longer mornings because I won’t need to choose what to wear! Hopefully the opportunity to speak to other people about why I’m involved in the challenge, and the chance to think about fashion, in terms of identity and sustainability.

 

Have you chosen your items yet? If you have, what are they?

My birthday will be during the challenge so I know I want a certain dress to be included…but other than that I’m still deciding.  It’s tough!

 

Leave a Reply

