Let’s hear it from Anna…

Why do you want to take part in the challenge, Anna?

I wanted to give up something different for lent, and this seemed entirely appropriate.  I know that fast fashion and the way that people today consume vast quantities of clothing has dire consequences for rights for workers in garment producing countries, and this seemed like a great way to explore this problem in my personal life.

Have you always thought about fashion from an ethical standpoint?

Yes, I have.

 What other themes do you think you’ll play with throughout the challenge?

I’m excited about accessorising more and creating a look with fewer resources. I like dressing up. This is just one other way to play.

What have you been doing to gear up towards the start of the six items challenge?

I’m wearing all the clothes that I won’t have the chance to wear in the next 40 days a lot. Currently I’m averaging 8 outfits a day…

What are expecting to be the most difficult element?

I’m not really expectin it to be too hard.  Although, if I have to go to London or dress up smart for anything in particular I may have problems.

What do you think you’ll experience during / after the challenge?

I’ll miss my Saturday morning outing to the charity shop on St Mark’s road.

Have you chosen your items yet? If you have, what are they?

My blue woolly jumper from monsoon, the baggy brown one from the charity shop, my green corduroy skirt, my really brightly coloured skirt with flowers on it, the grey dress with the white pattern, and a long sleeved stripy t-shirt. (nb. may change my mind in the next few days, a number of times)

Leave a Reply

