Hello Kerri…nice to have you here!

So, what made you want to take part in the  challenge, Kerri?

I’ve always wanted to find a way of showing support for ethical fashion, but as a mom, it’s not an easy task. As soon as I found LBL I wanted to do something…anything to get involved. This was the perfect way.

I did try this challenge last year using 10 items (purely out of my own curiousity!) and I ended up cheating a small bit so I’m really excited – albeit nervous – about attempting this challenge again, especially when it’s for such a good cause!

Have you always thought about fashion from an ethical standpoint, or is it something new  to you?

I started taking an interest when I was 16, but was never really a massive consideration until I started studying fashion 2 years ago. I started to become increasingly interested with my fellow (and much younger) students’ way of taking fashion at face value; it just seem to epitomise the idea of dissposable fashion. It is a hard thing to always consider, especially on the budget of a student/mom and even though I do tend to shop on the high street, I try to stay informed so where I shop and my consumption is definitely a consideration to me.

What other themes are you thinking of in relation to the challenge; sustainability? Thriftiness?  Reducing consumption?  Personal identity?

Sustainability and consumption are for sure my main considerations…the test of my will power will be an interesting experiment too!

What kind of things have you been doing in preparation for the Challenge?

Wearing as much of my wardrobe as possible! I’m pretty good when I shop and I really don’t think my wardrobe is as extensive as it could be, but there are items that I know I am going to miss wearing so I’m getting it out of my system now and avoiding the clothes that I am considering…

What are you expecting to be the most difficult?

The washing! I’m also wondering how my clothes will hold up with the constant wear. When I tried (and failed) this last year, one of my tops fell out of shape after 2 washes which was a pain so I’m being much more careful with the quality of my choices this time around.

I get bored pretty easily and have those days where ‘nothing looks good’ so I’m not looking forward to that! My hair may get the brunt of any ‘identity’ issues for the next few weeks! I’m also not great at accessorising…

How do you think your experience will differ during / after the challenge?

I’m not sure what way I’m going to get through. I’m hoping that my creative side will kick in to overdrive and I’ll get adventurous with accessorising, but I know for sure that I’ll hit that point where I start to get lazy and just get on with it!

I think when I’m done, my mind could go two ways: I’ll either appreciate what I have and work even harder at reducing my consumption (which is what I’m hoping for!) OR I’m worried I’ll just want to go on a shopping frenzy…although should this happen I’ll be sure to stick to the charity shops!

Have you chosen your items yet? If you have, what are they?

I have an idea, but no firm choices yet. I know the obvious would be to stick to the basics, but that’s not really me. So I may go half basics, half a bit more me…or maybe just wear dresses!

Leave a Reply

