Find out about Rachel

Hi Rachel, we’d like to know what inspired you to get involved in the Six Items Challenge?

This challenge is something very different to anything else I have done.  In the past I have given something up for Lent but I haven’t done this recently.  This is a bigger challenge than simply not eating chocolate or drinking alcohol as I don’t consume them daily anyway.  I wear clothes everyday and it will be interesting to see if I can cope with such a limited number of clothes.

Have you always thought about fashion from an ethical standpoint, or is it something new to you?

I have been passionate about Fairtrade for many years and in the past 2 years I have got more into it.  I am already conscious about where clothes come from and have been buying more Fairtrade cotton tops from Traidcraft and M&S. My two children wear lots of Fairtrade clothes from Little Green Radicals and Piccalilly.

What other themes are you thinking of in relation to the challenge; sustainability? Thriftiness?  Reducing consumption?  Personal identity?

Definitely reducing consumption.  I try my best to wear clothes for more than one day so this will be a good way of making sure I do so.  This hopefully will reduce my laundry.

What have you done to get organised in the run-up the the Challenge?

I have made sure all my clothes are clean and those that I will NOT be wearing will be going away so I am not tempted to cheat and wear them.  My wardrobe will just contain the tops and trousers I have chosen for the 6 weeks.

What are you expecting to be the most difficult aspect?

I have two small children so some days my clothes get very messy very quickly.  I don’t change my clothes as the next set will only get dirty too but occasionally my 15 month old son likes to be sick on me, usually after a feed and then I do need to change my clothes.  This past week he has been a little unwell and we both have gone through lots of clothes.  Should he be unwell during the next 6 weeks, I could run short of clothes to wear very quickly!

I will also have to keep on top of my laundry.  Very often my clothes get buried to the bottom of the basket so I will have to make sure I wash my clothes as soon as they need it.

What do you think you’ll experience during / after the challenge?

I hope to become more appreciative of the clothes I have and to think more about where my clothes come from and those who make them.

Have you chosen your items yet?  If you have, what are they?

Yes!  I am a stay at home mum so my wardrobe is pretty much jeans and t-shirt, but I like to wear something nice for Church on Sundays so I have chosen a dress to wear as its one item and I don’t get many opportunities to wear it.  I have chosen which two pairs of jeans and which two t-shirts to wear. A lot of my t-shirts are made from Fairtrade cotton so I have choosen two of these.

Leave a Reply

