Hello Monika!…

So, Monika, we’d love to know what made you want to take part in the six items challenge?

Recently, I was moving house and, upon packing, I realised that I own much more stuff then I actually need!  I really want do something about it, challenge my habits, find out how much I really need.  Taking part in this challenge gives me a chance to share my experience with other people, and hopefully encourage them to challenge their own habits. 

Have you always thought about fashion from an ethical standpoint, or is it something new to you?

I used to often buying second-hand clothing, but I never used to do it for ethical reasons. I was mostly after cheap and unique items, more then anything else. In 2008, while I was spending my summer in London, I took part in a workshop about ethical fashion organised by LBL as a part of a project they were doing back then – Fashioning an Ethical Industry. I was already quite interested in fair trade and the fashion industry, so ethical fashion seemed to be the perfect subject to focus on in my Master’s degree.

What other themes are you thinking of in relation to the challenge; sustainability? Thriftiness?  Reducing consumption?  Personal identity?

A little bit of everything…. I want to explore what actually makes us want to own so many clothes.  Is it just us?  Is it our culture?  Our families and friends? Media?  I don’t expect the answer to be straightforward.

How are you preparing yourself for the challenge?

I am trying to think of classic pieces I can wear on and on again. Something that will give me a little bit of flexibility.

What do you expect to be the most difficult thing during the six weeks?

I am a little concern that I will grow tired of wearing only six items… Hopefully not!

How do you think your experience before and after the challenge will differ?

I honestly don’t know what to expect. I can imagine that after the challenge I won’t look at my clothes in the same way ever again.

Have you made any decisions on what items you’ll be wearing?

I haven’t chosen the items yet, however I am probably going to go for dresses.

Leave a Reply

