An interview with Janine

Picture of Janine WoodwardHi Janine. Thanks for signing up for the 6 Items Challenge. What was it that convinced you to take part?
Several reasons really. I wanted to give something up for Lent. And I want to raise awareness of the great work Labour Behind the Label are doing supporting the people who make our clothes. So this seemed like a perfect way to do both! I also thought it would be a challenge to see if I could do it – I think I can last with 6 items of clothing for 6 weeks, but then I think about how many clothes I usually wear each week! Maybe it will be more difficult than I think?!

So, have you always thought about fashion from an ethical standpoint, or is it something new to you?
Since being at university I have tended to consider both the sustainability of the clothes I wear and the way my clothes are made. I think it’s totally unfair that many people suffer in the garment industry just for our vanity!

What themes are you thinking of in relation to the challenge; Sustainability? Thriftiness?  Reducing consumption? Personal identity?
Definitely reducing consumption, and also ‘craftiness’ – both in being crafty in how I can look different every day wearing the same clothes, and also in the sense of crafting accessories & amending my clothes through the challenge…. I’m a bit knitter & jewelery maker so I hope this will come in handy!!

What do you think you’ll experience during / after the challenge?
I think I’ll really miss wearing different colours, and this will really make me appreciate clothes, and therefore what people put in to making them for me. I also hope I’ll become more creative about what I wear, and be better at accessorizing!

What are you expecting to be the most difficult aspect?
When I inevitably spill something on my last jumper at 11pm one evening and have no clothes for the next day!

Talking of which, have you chosen your items yet? If you have, what are they?
Not yet… Do you have any suggestions?!

Leave a Reply

